“Well, now, what was I going to say?” said Mr. Butterbur, tapping his forehead.
“One thing drives out another, so to speak”

Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring (Chapter 9)

His name escapes me is a way of saying I have forgotten his name.  There are lots of ways to express this idea:
I can’t remember;

I don’t recall;

It doesn’t spring to mind;

I can’t bring it to mind.

People with poor memories say they have a brain like a sieve or a head like a sieve.  (It has holes in it and soon becomes empty!)

They may ask some one to
Remind me to…

or ask the question, while they are in the middle of recounting something,
Where was I?

When people wish to remember something from the past they may collect reminders known as memorabilia or souvenirs.  Holiday souvenirs remind us of places we have visited.  It is a French word. Sous means under and venir means to come.  The writing of memoirs saves information for future generations.

Memories are important.  Both the things we have to remember to do and the things we remember about the past.

Remember your Creator in the days of your youth…  Ecclesiastes 12:1. (NIV)

Ecclesiastes 12:13-14 explains the whole duty of man.

(If you are no longer young and the first reference passed you by, the words of the prophet Isaiah may be more helpful Isaiah 55:6-7.)