Today I am happy to be the guest blogger at the A to Z April Challenge

Many thanks to Tina at Life is Good for having me and for overcoming the differences between our blogging platforms to prepare my post for publication.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Nothing venture; nothing gain
is a proverb.  I recently heard similar sentiments in a modern phrase:
God doesn’t move a parked car.

Venture forth means set out (on a journey, expedition or errand).

Sitting in judgment is a way of being critical, if you do not happen to be a judge.

Sitting on the fence appeared in a post on my other blog– with a joke.  It means not taking sides.

Sitting pretty is being very well of financially.

To see something coming is to anticipate the outcome of previous events.

All singing, all dancing is used to describe a modern invention which can do more than its basic function.

I stand corrected is an expression often used when someone has been put right.

Stand and deliver is what highwaymen traditionally said to their victims.  They were asking them to get out of the stagecoach and hand over their valuables.

A walk-over is an easy victory.

Come to can mean recover consciousness.

To come to oneself is to become normal or realize one’s errors.

To come to one’s senses is to turn away from an error of judgment.

Go your own sweet way is to do just as you like.

Trail behind is to lag.

In his vision described in the Book of Revelation St John heard Jesus say  Those whom I love I rebuke and discipline.  So be earnest and repent.  Here I am!  I stand at the door and knock.  If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me.  Revelation 3:19-20 (NIV)

File:Hunt Light of the World.jpg

Holman Hunt’s Painting The Light of the World
Photo credit Wikipedia

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Hunt_Light_of_the_World.jpg

