If someone is under the weather, they are not completely well.  Where did this meaning come from?  After all most of our weather comes from the sky, so in one sense we are all under the weather.  Is it seasonal illnesses, such as ‘flu or SAD (seasonal affective disorder) which led to this phrase?  It is a useful way of avoiding unnecessary details about a person’s health.

It wasn’t the cough that carried him off, but the coffin they carried him off in.
There are various ways that this can be said. Cough is sometimes replaced by coughin’.   I prefer the rhyming scheme in the version I heard first.

Cough it up; it might be a gold watch.
As a child I didn’t know what this meant, but having had that sort of cough, I do!

Coughs and sneezes spread diseases.
The germs are in the droplets.

I am reminded of another nursery rhyme – Ring a ring o’ roses.

Ring a ring o’ roses,
A pocket full of posies,
A-tishoo, A-tishoo,
We all fall down.

This rhyme has been linked  to the plague or Black Death, but the symptoms don’t seem quite right.  Other suggestions are given in this article.

File:Ring-a-round-a rosesSmith.jpg

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Ring-a-round-a_rosesSmith.jpg
Photo Credit Wikipedia

When I went on Brownie Pack Holiday at the age of eight, I was the youngest.  We had a trip to the seaside and played this in the sea.  We were all holding hands and some of the adults were quite tall.  As we played we were getting into deeper and deeper water.  I hadn’t been able to touch the bottom for some time.  At the “all fall down”, I deliberately went down as far as I could.  When I came back up, some of them were looking quite concerned!

It’s only a scratch.
Here is a reassuring assessment of an injury.

Kiss it better or
Suck it better…
…either way I am told that saliva has antiseptic properties.

Why do you suppose Jesus used spittle (or saliva) when he healed the man born blind?  John Chapter 9

