Manners maketh man
was the motto of William of Wykeham, Bishop of Winchester and founder of Winchester College (Oxford Dictionary of Phrase, Saying and Quotation)


William of Wykeham

Photo credit Wikimedia PD-Art template without parameter

Good manners can help in any social situation and avoid upsets at family gatherings.

“Lead on, Macduff”
was often used in my childhood when we were about to set off on foot.  It is a misquotation of “Lay on, Macduff”  from Macbeth by William Shakespeare.

Who goes first is an everyday issue of manners and there are plenty of expressions which are used in this context.

Ladies first
is the rule for offering refreshments.

Dust before broom and age before beauty are not particularly polite but meant in fun, where one person has to go ahead of another.

After you is more polite.

Stand aside
is an instruction to make room.

It’s all the same to me.
When someone has asked what you would like to do and offered a few suggestions, this may appear to be a diplomatic reply, but it isn’t particularly helpful.

I don’t want to barge in where I’m not wanted.
This makes the speakers position clear, if they have entered a room and interrupted a private conversation.  It can be used in other situations where the speaker is feeling left out.

Do you mind?
The tone of voice affects the meaning of this question.  It can be a straightforward enquiry or an angry complaint.

Do me a favour.
The same applies here, only it is a request for help or for better understanding.

When people talk for too long about topics of little interest to their listeners they may be
boring the socks off them.

The unfortunate listeners may be
bored to tears or bored to death –  but not literally.

At the end of a party or a friendly drink it is necessary to know how to take your leave and not overstay your welcome.

I’ll love you and leave you
or
I’ll take my leave
fit the bill
here.

At Christmas we celebrate the coming of Christ, but he also spoke about leaving.  In John’s gospel Chapter 16 verse 6  (NIV) Jesus said, “Now I am going to him who sent me…Unless I go away the Counsellor will not come to you, but if I go, I will send him to you.”  Here we read about God the Father, God the Son and God the Holy Spirit, three persons and one God.

Matthew Chapter 28 Verse 20 (NIV) Jesus said, “And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”