I am new to blogging. My reason for beginning to blog is to share a collection of sayings, which I heard while I was growing up and to consider their meanings and in some cases derivation. Most of the sayings are very old and were invented in a very different world from ours. Even when I first heard them there were no computers, mobile phones or many of the devices and gadgets we tend to take for granted nowadays.

The above block quote is the contents of my very first post “Introduction to Sue’s considered trifles“.  I am rewriting it in response to a daily prompt.

In July 2012 my reason for beginning to blog was to share a collection of sayings. My aim was to include the ones I had  heard while I was growing up and to consider their meanings and in some cases derivations.  Most of the sayings are very old and were invented in a very different world from ours.  When I first heard them there were no computers, mobile phones or many of the devices and gadgets we tend to take for granted nowadays.
I was unaware that blogging involved social networking.  I have found some extraordinarily inspirational bloggers and read well-written posts and admired beautiful photographs and original art.  I now have a links page so that anyone is able to find the blogs I recommend.  Sometimes other blogs influence the content and style of my writing, although I try to remain fairly consistent as my ambition is to collect this material into a book.
I have widened my original remit and am now including phrases and even single words, which I fancy commenting on.  I discovered that, as many phrases derive from the Bible, it was easy to provide a reference.  Even where there is not a direct quote, I like to include an appropriate reference. For this post I have chosen the opening words of St John’s gospel.  In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the  Word was God.