Sit up straight!

Posture was so important.

Stand up straight!

Don’t slouch!
I have always had round shoulder and had to do exercises to try to straighten them.  It didn’t work!

Shut the door!
Before central heating there were lots of draughts.

Put wood in th’hole!
A dialect expression from the north of England for “shut the door”.

Switch the lights off!
This was to save electricity when a room was not being used.  It is a necessary economy when money is short and a good thing to do to save the world’s resources.

Say “Aah”!
Here the doctor would like to see down your throat…

Say “Cheese”!
…and the photographer would like a big smile.  I am always tempted to shout out, “Cheddar!” instead, but it would make my mouth the wrong shape.

As these are all commands, why not look at John Chapter 13 verses 34 and 35 (NIV)  “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.  By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”