“Pansies are for thoughts.”

There’s a whole language in flowers.  This is part of a quotation from Shakespeare’s Hamlet.There’s rosemary, that’s for remembrance; pray, love, remember: and there is pansies, that’s for thoughts.”  Pansies are some of my favourite flowers.

I wonder what’s behind that.
Is there an ulterior motive or the more recent expression a hidden agenda?

Getting to the bottom of something.
It might be necessary to ask some probing questions.

It will all come out in the wash.
This isn’t about stained clothes, but about explanations.

It isn’t all that it seems.
An explanation may or may not be forthcoming.

Little do they know.
A reaction to someone’s reported comment…

They don’t know the half of it.
…and another.

That’s stating the obvious.
That is something I am supposed to be good at!

In my opinion…
No explanation required…

…but here’s an expression I do not like at all:
In my humble opinion…

It seems to me that…
…humble people do not advertise their humility.

I speak as I find.
Someone here is stating that they do not always agree with others and perhaps that they speak their mind.

I mean what I say.
There is a memorable passage in  Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland which is worth consideration.  Lewis Carroll was a mathematician and logic is a branch of mathematics or is it the other way round?

Anyhow to get to the point

“’Then you should say what you mean,’ the March hare went on.

‘I do,’ Alice hastily replied; ‘at least – at least I mean what I say – that’s the same thing you know.’

‘Not the same thing a bit!’ said the hatter”

I thought as much
and
That’s what I thought
are ways of agreeing with the Mad Hatter or anyone else.

I beg to differ
is a way of disagreeing.

Jesus taught that it is not necessary to swear in Matthew Chapter 5 verses 33 to 37.  Verse 37 (NIV) “Simply let your ‘Yes’ be ‘Yes’, and your ‘No’, ‘No’; anything beyond this comes from the evil one.”

Food for thought.
Something to consider.

I’m having second thoughts.
I might be about to change my mind.

Put your thinking cap on.
Do you need a special hat to think in?  Muffin the Mule did in Annette Mills’ children’s book.