No news is good news.

If you haven’t heard from someone, you might as well assume that everything is all right.  You can expect to hear quickly if anything is seriously wrong.

But, especially if it is your grown-up children you are thinking about, you probably asked them to “Keep in touch”.  A strange expression as you cannot physically touch someone who is not with you.  The opposite is out of touch and can apply to people or to current affairs, for example.

 

Nothing to write home about.

How long will it be before this is replaced by “Nothing to post about”?  Literally its meaning is obvious, but it is often used to describe a person or an event.

 

Don’t talk to strangers!

Children are usually given this advice.  As they grow up they begin to meet new people and learn how to talk to them.

I remember as a school child regularly meeting an eccentric old lady on the way to secondary school.  As we felt safe in a group, we always returned her greetings and perhaps she had a few words to say.  It was my mother who was the most surprised when we discovered that this lady was the mother of the sister-in-law of one of my mother’s oldest friends.  I had never mentioned the old lady to my mother, but when my family met the lady’s daughter, I realised the connection between them!

 

Reading between the lines…

This is about what hasn’t been said, but can be surmised.

 

That’s it in a nutshell.

A short account or summary might fit into something as small as a nutshell, I suppose.  I enjoyed précis at school as an English exercise, which is a good way to cut a long story short.

 

He quoted chapter and verse.

In days when everyone in Great Britain was familiar with the format of the Bible, this description of someone giving a detailed account would have been readily understood.

 

She likes the sound of her own voice.

This is used about somebody who talks a lot.

 

That was a long-winded sermon.

It takes a lot of breath to talk for a long time.  People can be long-winded too.

 

I couldn’t get a word in edgeways.

What with the last two entries, I’m not surprised!  The analogy is with a wedge.

 

In a roundabout way.

Here’s another way of telling a story, which avoids getting to the point or not saying something in as many words.

 

Don’t go on about it!

Here is a tool for stopping someone going over and over the same thing.

 

Let the matter drop or Let it drop!

Another  tool – this time to end an argument.  And here’s another:- 

Enough’s enough.

 

I speak my mind.

At least if someone makes a habit of saying what they think, you know their opinion.  It may not be complimentary, however.

Let me say my piece!

You’ve had your turn, so now it’s mine.  The piece referred to is a prepared speech.

 

Speak for yourself!

That’s your view, but I don’t agree with you.

 

Speak up for yourself; no-one else will is advice to a shy child.

 

There are (at least) two sides to every story.

Everyone experiences things differently and they don’t always tell the whole story.  Parents should bear this in mind when their children do not seem to be able to agree about what happened.

 

I’ll give you a piece of my mind!

 This is someone who can’t keep quiet about what they think and probably with good reason.

 

I’ve come to make my peace.

There must have been an argument and here someone is coming along prepared to be the first to try to put things right.  It isn’t necessary to agree about everything to be friends, but apologies are not always accepted.  Matthew Chapter 5 v 9 (NIV) Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called sons of God.

 

